Posted by: gbake783 | February 22, 2011

Skiing with the men

Twice now I’ve had the privilege to ski with groups of men in our church. The first time seven of us went to Snowbasin and the second, last Friday, six of us went up to Powder Mountain. I’ve also had the occasion to ski with some of our men individually over at Wolf Mountain.

Three thoughts occurred to me. First, I should never, ever complain about ministry when I can consider skiing a legit means of discipleship. Second, after living in the West for only 7 months, I can’t imagine why anyone would want to live anywhere else. And third, skiing is the perfect activity for talking about God. When you’re on the lift, what else are you going to do? Shiver? But give two guys 10 minutes on a lift and we can cover a lot of ground. Added bonus: about the time there’s a lull in the conversation, the lift ride is over and it’s time to ski again. Pastoral bonus: if I get a question that requires a little thought, I get to stall for time while I ski down the hill!

Leave a Reply

Categories

