Posted by: gbake783 | February 23, 2011

Discipline

One of my favorite political authors is George Will. He’s a little wordy, but he never fails to make me consult a dictionary and he’d destroy me at Scrabble. 

In a recent article he quoted this tidbit about discipline found on the wall of a high school wrestling room, “Discipline is doing what you don’t want to do when you don’t want to do it.” That pretty well sums it up. I don’t know why, but that quote has captured me the last few days. And, not coincidentally, I’ve been more productive these last two days than I have been in a long time. Sometimes I just need an old wrestling coach (or at least what he wrote on a wall) to kick me in the seat of the pants.

Leave a Reply

Categories

