Posted by: gbake783 | January 13, 2012

Luke 11:1-13

Sometimes we read the Bible the way we want to read it instead of reading the actual words. I don’t know how many times I’ve read Luke 11:13 – I’ve used it many times in counseling sessions. Yet, I think I was always reading it the way I wanted to read it. The verse reads, “If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

Here’s how I wanted to read it: If sinful fathers know how to give good gifts, then our perfect Father knows how to give even better gifts. I have probably always thought “better gifts” … or something like it. But that’s not what the verse says! The verse does indeed promise an even better gift, just not the type of better gift I had assumed.

Just as fathers give good gifts to their children, how much more will God give the Spirit? Why, the Spirit?

Romans 8:26 reads, “Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.”

I think an illustration will drive home the point. Nearly every day my two year old son asks for chocolate milk. He takes a spoon out of the drawer, brings it to me or my wife and says, “Chocolate milk?” And sometimes we delight to give it to him – it’s fun to watch him get so excited about his chocolate milk. But I don’t always give him chocolate milk – it’s a special treat. It’s my job as his father to make sure he’s being nourished properly. And chocolate milk just doesn’t quite get the job done. As his father, I have a better perspective on his true needs (although, I think Paton might assiduously disagree with me when he has a hankering for his chocolate milk).

Our Heavenly Father is no different, only He is better equipped than I am as an earthly father. I ask my Heavenly Father for chocolate milk. Not now is the reply? But in response, God gives the Spirit so I’ll know better next time how to ask in accord with God’s will. God’s response to requests for gifts is the best gift – the assistance of the Spirit in our prayers. God could just ignore the request and move forward, but how much more gracious is it when God assists us in praying prayers that He delights to answer every time?

Responses

  1. […] Luke 11:1-13 – Pastor Greg Baker meditates on God’s gift of the Holy Spirit. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

